Department Of Cell Biology & Genetics

Permanent URI for this community

The department of Biology was instituted in 1966 as the third department in the defunct School of Biological Sciences. The other departments were Botany and Zoology. In its early years, the department was responsible for the Preliminary Biology, Medicine and related disciplines, NCE (Biology) and B.Sc. Education Biology programmes. Consequent on a deliberate recruitment of the requisite staff by the department, the senate in 1971/72 approved a B.Sc. (Hons) degree in Biology.